Day 6: Mingle

In case you’re just joining us, I’m a few days into Robert Brewer’s writing challenge, encouraging us to take steps every day for 30 days toward building a platform and developing your following.

It’s been a smashing experience so far, and I’m pretty excited to carry on.

Day 6: Read a Blog and Comment on it

A reasonable suggestion. Where to begin?

Since I blog primarily about stories, fiction, travel, and my personal experience with all those things, it seemed smart to look for other blogs with a similar focus. When I laid eyes on MORFIS, I knew my search was over.

MORFIS is a collection of art, illustrations, photography and design that takes you to another place. Browsing around the virtual gallery, I found myself smiling involuntarily. The imagination spread across the digital pages is really something. I was drawn in.

But it isn’t enough to visit a blog and merely appreciate it. We are to leave evidence of our appreciation.

I was hard pressed to choose, but I settled on a post depicting illustrations by Dan May, a highly detailed fine artist in Chicago. Take a peek at the blog and see what you think – I was quite inspired, and may even come up with some new stories based on what I saw. You can see Dan’s photos (and my comment) here.

3 thoughts on “Day 6: Mingle

  1. I thought about joining in on Robert’s platform challenge, but I was too busy trying to keep up with his Poem-a-day over at Poetic Asides. Love his blogs and challenges. And the picture above is…awesome in a way that I can’t seem to explain. Perhaps it’s the swirls, or the use of monochromatic, or the hypnotic way it pulls one in.

    • WTA – the great thing about the challenge is you can do it any time! Once you finish building your content you can come back to the platform. And I agree, these illustrations are so imaginative and enthralling – the MORFIS blog has plenty more were that came from!

Leave a comment