One Morning in Richmond

Counting down to June 2, at which point I will no longer be a Virginia citizen! In honor of my home state, I re-post these meanderings in Richmond a couple summers ago. A breezy read that just may inspire you to visit.

Going Places

In which a quick road trip and a visit to my cousin is really just a foil for the lengths to which I will go for a great haircut.

It’s Saturday morning, calm and breezy. Warm but not too warm – yet. This is summer in Virginia, after all. My dear cousin, Carly Childers has recently become a stylist at Blackbird Salon in Richmond and I have an 11:00 appointment.

I-95 was busy, not too surprising for 8am on a beach day. I rocked out to great hits of the 60’s and 70’s through the Fredricksburg traffic and pointless rubbernecking and made it to the salon with moments to spare.

Blackbird is on North Lombardy Street, right near Carytown, and a very picturesque area of Richmond. It’s highly residential, with some of the houses converted into shops here and there. Blackbird Salon appears to be one of these, which makes…

View original post 271 more words

Leave a Reply

