Writer’s Block

Whenever I talk to someone about writing, they inevitably ask me if I get writer’s block. I find that intriguing. Is this a common phenomenon, that would-be writers just can’t think of anything to say?

I confess, I’ve never really believed in writer’s block. Not that I always feel like writing, but when you work for a communications company and deadlines must be met, you just have to produce whether you feel it or not. So I don’t tend to encounter writer’s block in that way – staring at the blank page with dread in my heart and motionless fingers.

I do, however, frequently run into problems with plot. I think this is normal. Some of my favorite films have brilliant plot twists that I would never have seen coming and that I have to believe took months of fervent effort to imagine into being. I mean, surely Christopher Nolan didn’t just whip up a brilliant ending to a complex story in one sitting.

It’s like Emma Thompson’s character in one of my favorite movies, Stranger than Fiction. She’s working on a novel about death and taxes, and just can’t seem to find a fitting way to kill off her main character and tie up all the loose ends of her story.

Eventually she devises the perfect solution, of course, but it takes time. And effort.

It’s work.

In my quest to become a screenwriter, I haven’t wrestled with a block so much as I keep turning over the plot of my baby screenplay in my mind, trying out different solutions and gleaning some insights and tossing out other ideas that just don’t fit. It’s a lonely business, especially since what I end up with is often still full of holes and needing further effort.

I was having breakfast with my mom the other day, and she asked what I was writing about. It’s never comfortable to answer that question, because honestly I am not altogether sure. But I gradually teased out the contents of the story I’m concocting in my screenwriting class.

She wore a look that clearly said, “I don’t get it.”

So I kept going, and sketched out some of the ideas I’d been toying with and the problems I still have and the solutions I’m looking for. And suddenly a light bulb fell out of my mouth. Inspiration struck as I was talking out my story. Not the full solution, maybe not even part of it, but a very intriguing aspect of my main character previously unnoticed by me.

It’s uncomfortable to share any creative work before it’s done. Especially with people you really want to impress, like your mom or your boss or your cute next door neighbor. But I guess the creative process is like that. Discomfort is a good sign – it shows you’re pushing beyond familiar territory and heading for fresh new horizons.

So here’s to being uncomfortable! And the potential light bulb moments that await. Cheers.

4 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. I’m working on a screenplay now, publishing it in installments on WordPress. I’m doing it without benefit of having taken screenwriting classes, though you can learn a lot on line. I’m having fun with it, getting it out there. I’ve made up my mind to be thick skinned about negative feedback and to remain undeterred. All I really have to lose is some TV time. I’m still trying to figure out how to keep everything, including dialogue, from ending up on the left margin. Whatever I’ve published on WordPress, I’ve already typed out in the proper format, so I do have backup. Up to now, I’ve gotten pretty much zero feedback, positive or negative. As far as writer’s block, just sit down and start writing. The writing, once you start hatching out a plot, becomes self-perpetuating.

    • Thanks for responding, LDL! I think the formatting thing is a problem with the ‘quick post’ feature – if you go into your dashboard and start a new post from there, it should give you a larger array of formatting options.

      I’ve got your blog open in one of my browser tabs – I’ll be interested to give it a read next week! Enjoy your writing!

  2. Pingback: The Voices. « Dancing with Fireflies

Leave a Reply

