Day 2: Commit Yourself to the Impossible

Yesterday’s challenge went so well, I almost wanted to do Day 2 last night! This place has been neglected since January and with one post I suddenly have two new followers, Jill of all Trades and Kashfi Fahim, two fellow writers and bloggers on WordPress.

Now that I know who I am, Robert Brewer wants me to lay down some goals. I guess the plan is to confront all my phobias right at the beginning of this challenge, and then things get easier later. Part of the problem with setting goals is that I set unreasonable goals. I’m sure this is not uncommon, but still it bugs me to have items on my to-do list that are simply not going to get checked off.

Whoever said writing was therapy, I’m beginning to see the point. Well, here goes.

Day 2: Set Your Goals

Since it worked out so well yesterday, I’ll start with Robert’s goals as a template and swap out my own. I just noticed these lists both suspiciously end with ‘Etc.’ Hmmm…

Deep breath. I can do this.

Short-term goals:

  • Complete this writing challenge (2 days down, 28 to go!)
  • In June, finish editing my pilot TV episode for The Chocolate Tourist
  • Increase traffic and visibility for online episodes of The Chocolate Tourist
  • In June, get to page 60 on the rough draft for my screenplay
  • Finish tweaks to 48HFP film entry for wrap party on June 6
  • Get in the habit of blogging weekly at DCTravels
  • Create my first e-newsletter for Pink Papaya
  • Come up with a basic marketing plan for For The Glory by the time I leave for vacation
  • Work out every day and track calories
  • Play an open mic before the summer ends
  • Go back to Europe with my mom and visit castles
  • Figure out how to sync my cortneywrites.com domain with my WordPress or Tumblr feed
  • Beef up my social media… with Google+
  • Figure out Reddit and Digg

Again, I’m sure I forgot something… there’s always editing.

The trouble with these long-term goals is that when any one of these things happens, it will throw most of the others off course. I guess then I will just reassess and rewrite. I can do that.

Long-term goals:

  • Get The Chocolate Tourist on air with a network
  • Develop other show ideas for web and TV
  • Teach some other people about what I’ve learned and am learning
  • Sell my screenplay
  • Become financially solvent with writing and production work alone
  • Record a CD of all my songs
  • Attain and maintain a healthy weight
  • Find someone to marry and marry him
  • Enjoy each day with whatever it brings
  • Get closer to God
  • Learn French
  • Live in a treehouse

What about you? Are your goals in front of you somehow? Do they motivate you?

Courtesy of THE FLAMES THAT FUEL HER on Tumblr
http://theflamesthatfuelher.tumblr.com

2 thoughts on “Day 2: Commit Yourself to the Impossible

  1. Hello! I just landed on your blog, it seems really interesting! I’m currently trying to work as an audiovisual translator, so what you yearn for resonates 🙂 And YAY, someone who wants to learn French!

Leave a Reply

