Day 1: Get Back in the Box

It rarely happens that I get bored, but today I did. And then I remembered I’m supposed to be a writer, so hey… why not get on that.

As you can see from my last effort, I have a great fondness for defined strategies of success. Whether or not I have the passion or inspiration to follow through is yet to be seen. But let’s not give up just yet – fellow blogger Not Bob (or Robert, as others may call him) led a very interesting experiment last month, posting 30 suggestions for building one’s writing platform in 30 days.

Let’s play, shall we? Day One: Define Yourself

You know that box we’ve all been trying to think outside of? Well that’s good, keep doing that but first I guess we should have a good grip on what the box is, per se.

There are few things that defy me more than the task to describe myself, my passion, or my plans for the future with any sort of definitive finality. So this could be a little tough. But when the going gets tough, the tough get going. Plus, Robert already filled out the form so I just have to adjust his answers to match my box.

Name: Cortney Matz

Position(s): Creator/Producer of The Chocolate Tourist online video series; freelance video editor; freelance webmaster; screenwriter; filmmaker; wedding videographer; worship leader; social media consultant; idea-generator

Skill(s): Editing, creative writing, copywriting, blogging, problem solving, idea generation, drawing, graphic designing, shooting (on video), dreaming, coordinating, training for half marathons, picking out cute shoes for big feet, helping others find their niche, making things pretty

Social media platforms: Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Tumblr

URLs: www.cortneymatz.com, www.thechocolatetourist.tv, www.scribblesinnotebooks.wordpress.com, www.cortneymatzwrites.wordpress.com, coelma.tumblr.com

Accomplishments: Oh, too many to mention.

Interests: Writing , marriage (achieving it), faith, fitness (especially running and the Biggest Loser Wii game), watching movies, talking about movies, playing piano, singing, songwriting, making stuff (like cards and t-shirts), cooking, reading.

In one sentence, who am I? Cortney Matz is a writer and multimedia producer with way too many ideas for one person to possibly execute, so she has a bunch of friends that help with some of them and then she writes about the rest.

Whew! That wasn’t so hard. Starting with Robert’s answers really helped. Thanks Robert!

I might edit this later.

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Get Back in the Box

  1. Pingback: Day 12: Encourage Conversation | Scribbles

Leave a Reply

